The last hoo-rah (my summary)

Well, this is a bitter-sweet post!

This post signifies the last step in completing my Masters – it is literally THE light, at the end of this (almost) 3 year journey for me!  I saw Ashley was looking to start a hashtag for the ECI alum – and I have to say, I’m excited to find out what we’re going with because I have found such a great community in all of my classes! But-I suppose I should get on with it…

This summary has been a really exciting one for me.  I really wanted to push myself to try something I hadn’t done before.  So, on January 11th, I took to the Twitter-verse and started asking for help with my summary of learning.

It was scary, I mean, really I lost all ‘control’ in that moment (I mean, don’t get me wrong, I could have you tube’d a karaoke version if this didn’t pan out) but just trusting that someone would be willing to donate their time and effort to create music for me- it took faith (ironically, so did the other project we did this semester)!

(Ok, I may have preemptively branched out into other forms of Social media…and  at a staff meeting- but it was just once)!
 Thankfully – I got a response from each realm that I put a request out!  Facebook, Face to face and Twitter (how could I have ever of doubted the power of my PLN)?
This time around, I also pushed myself in my video editing capabilities.  I utilized Audacity, a recording tool, and I borrowed a Samson Meteor mic from a friend.  I’m sure we could scan all of my blog posts and find out the many areas in which I am cheap- but I will say if podcasting or recording vocals were in my immediate future, I would definitely consider spending the money to purchase this piece of equipment.  The sound quality is far superior to my previous recordings (plus it was more fun singing into a mic)!
Aside from all of that, I also discovered this time that Movie Maker didn’t necessarily have all of the editing tools that say IMovie might have – and so my vision for the video changed a few times throughout the process.
Initially, I purchased the DoInk app, (and given my aforementioned cheap-ness), if I’m spending money on something (no, it doesn’t matter that it was only $3!)  I’d better be using it!  So, in the end, I decided I might as well attempt a green screen video – who knows, it might be ok…
Most of the pictures used in the video were my own (I had to get a picture of the statue seemingly taking a selfie!), Ryan gave me permission to use pictures from his website, and anything else in the video was from the public domain!
Just in case my lyrics are muffled, feel free to read them here.

This semester was a challenging one.  I found it difficult (to say the least) to transition my thinking as an online student to an online teacher.  I think many would assume it’s “easier” to teach a course online – however I can honestly say there is significantly more thought put into the planning (at least there should be, in my opinion), because when you are missing the face to face interaction part, there are a lot more things you need to be aware of and concerned about (for the sake of your learners).

In the end, I learned a lot about LMS, adapting/considering the things I put into my blended learning prototype, and how to use my PLN in a more productive/interactive manner!

Thanks for another great semester filled with learning!
7 thoughts on “The last hoo-rah (my summary)

  1. You have such a great voice, Amy! Looks like you used a lot of different things to pull together this summary of learning. Very engaging and yet a perfect summary of the course! Well done!!

    1. Thanks so much Jannae! It was certainly a process that I was uncomfortable with (at times), but I’m really happy with how it turned out.

  2. Wow! What an awesome idea for a final project. I couldn’t agree more with you about the want for continued connection as we finish our masters. I didn’t get a lot of results on the Twitter hashtag poll, but the majority of people selected #eci83alum so maybe we can go with that? I appreciate the #saskedchat group and conversations, but it’s nice to keep in contact with our PLN that we have developed in our courses too.

    1. I completely agree Ashley! Would love to see #eci83alum become a ‘thing’. Thank you so much for putting it out there! Looking forward to seeing everyone tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

