Still loading… Web 3.0

InternetSlowdown Day.gif
By DarmokandOwn work, CC BY-SA 4.0, Link

Erin, Kyle, Naomi, Heidi S, and Angus left me thinking (and maybe feeling a little perplexed) about web 3.0.

I would say that I am a (fairly confident) web 2.0 teacher- for me, it was never a ‘choice’ to do it I, like my classmate Logan, grew up watching (and interacting with) this technology and these ideals as changed and evolved.

But after this week’s presentation, I’m left feeling like I’m in Scrooge’s shoes, and I’m being showed “Technology things yet to come”.  It’s a little daunting- and I’m approaching it with caution until I am better able to wrap my head around what it means on a whole.

As Erin summarizes:

Web 3.0=

  • reinvention of the web
  • community generated content
  • personalized, self-determined, interest-based learningA “good student” is someone who is a self-determined, interest-based, networked learner.

A reinvention of the web, involves considering how the trillions (potentially) of pages are stored, and accessed when we are searching.  It also involves how the web interacts with us (ie. it starts ‘learning’ about you and your behaviours to tailor results of the questions you ask it).  This video talks a little bit about that side of things, (it’s a little ‘techy‘ and not really focused on education, but still interesting).

 

If we consider the “good student” at this stage though – I have to question it, just a little.  Do all learners learn in the same way?  Is technology the only way we can make ‘good students’?  How can students be a ‘self-determined’ learner if they can’t read, or if they lack devices and access?

“The web influences people’s way of thinking, doing and being” Jackie Gerstein

Jackie’s thoughts are absolutely accurate here, in my opinion.  How could the web not be influential?  For the most part, it is at our fingertips, and it’s not often you can get through a work day or social outing without turning to the web for something.  Even those people who are against social media (SM) and choose not to get profiles, still (in my experience) have to find loopholes and ways to access those sites for information they wish to garner.  How could you not be influenced by the web and social media, it has become a part of what we do and how we live- so even if you are not a SM user, your life is still impacted by it.

Gillmor (2004) was quoted as saying , “In the past 150 years
we’ve essentially had two distinct means of communication: one-to-many
(books, newspapers, radio, and TV) and one-to-one (letters, telegraph, and
telephone). The Internet, for the first time, gives us many-to-many and
few-to-few communications.”

This, of course goes for students and their learning as well (even if they are not learning it in the classroom).  Gerstein discusses that Web 3.0 means students can demonstrate the things they learned in whichever way works best for them – but she specifies students using their own devices as an option.

In this model – who’s voice is not being heard?  How are students who don’t have personal devices effected by this?

 

7 thoughts on “Still loading… Web 3.0

  1. Great post Amy. I want to comment on your statement “Gerstein discusses that Web 3.0 means students can demonstrate the things they learned in whichever way works best for them – but she specifies students using their own devices as an option.” You bring up a good point about students not having devices being disadvantaged. Another thing I wonder is if students become overwhelmed by being given so much freedom. Lots of times the more directions I am given the more comfortable I am with doing something, and I feel overwhelmed when given lots of choice and freedom.

    I am not saying that I disagree that students should choose the way they demonstrate learning. For me, even when I feel overwhelmed my having choice the outcome is generally more creative than if I were given specific instructions. I just wonder if anyone has experienced students being overwhelmed by being given the go-ahead to direct their own learning, and how you help students feel comfortable with an abundance of choices.

    1. I definitely have students who become lost when given choice. Already at 6 and 7 years of age I find students are easily overwhelmed when I encourage self-directed learning. I find it takes a lot of modelling and explaining my own thinking aloud for my students to gain some confidence in exploring their own interests.

  2. Thanks Amy for you thoughts. The idea that a technology can interact with us (humans) is still a little mystifying to me and I find it hard to grasp. I see the internet as a place I go to rather than a place that interacts with me. I’m not sure I’m ready hahah.

    1. And yet our children will grow up with Web 3.0 as “the normal”. They likely won’t think twice about interacting with the web. It freaks me out if I think about it too much!

Leave a Reply

