I can’t feel my face on facebook…

…but I love it, but I love it (you’re welcome).

 

Digital dualism is a farce- and augmented reality is the new black, or is it orange? -If you don’t believe me, consider Nathan Jurgenson’s ideas below:

 

Our debate teams did an excellent job this week, and had me considering:  Do I need to unplug to be an ‘in the now’ person?  Am I missing things around me by looking at my phone?  What are the implications of a digital age for my children who are growing up with devices all around them?

There are so many things to consider in this topic.

Erin makes several points in her blog that were very relevant to me.  I’m an introvert as, and as such sometimes real life, face to face social situations overwhelm me.  It’s nice to have a device to turn my attention to in order to ‘control’ the overwhelmed feelings I may be having.

Katia among others also mentioned the ability to connect with family and friends far away, and I also am able to do that effectively.

The truth of the matter is that we live in “the technology age” and I believe that augmented reality is how we live our lives now.  Most people have devices, have social media or can access the internet at almost any given time.  As such, I feel like looking at the idea of ‘unplugging’ as somewhat unnecessary.  After all, when you are taking a break from technology, are you leaving the lights out and not using pencil and paper as well?  These are technology’s that were developed once upon a time as well – why haven’t people demanded we take a break from using lights, furnaces etc?  Wouldn’t we all become much more independent and resourceful if we challenged ourselves to live through a week of Saskatchewan winter ‘unplugged’ from our furnace (I know I said the ‘w’ word – sorry about that).

This connects back to our earlier debates about health and technology and finding ‘balance’ (in my opinion) .  I think we need to work to include technology as ‘part’ of the whole picture.  If we consider our children who were born into this age of devices and technology, are we modelling the best strategies for them if we have an all or none mentality?  Or are we doing a better service to our children if we model moderation in how we are using technology and when?

As far as am I missing things around me by looking at my phone:

 

This is a good video to consider – is this what I do?  My answer is no.  I think this is a good illustration of what excessive use looks like and as long as your phone is not always in front of your face, and you can recall conversations with people when you didn’t have your phone in your hand – I think we can/are able to practice moderation in this era of technology.

I will continue to try to model moderation for my own children (and those I work with) and I will remember that sometimes I don’t require a cell phone!

 

6 thoughts on “I can’t feel my face on facebook…

  1. Great post Amy! I agree that moderation is the key and it’s important for us to model this for our students and children. We are in the technology age and unplugging doesn’t even seem possible…nor should it be, but I think if we’re more mindful of choosing opportunities throughout our days to “unplug”, we will have overall better well-being. I seem to find myself revisiting the SK K-12 digital citizenship continuum and appreciate that health and wellness are included in this document. I think that proves that the conversations of managing our plugged and unplugged time are of value. Enjoy your summer Amy!

  2. Haha what a catchy title, again, for your final blog post, Amy! I agree that I personally find the concept of unplugging difficult to wrap my head around…but these posts are making me think I may need to re-consider. Thanks for all of your great input this semester. Good luck in the rest of your asters program! 🙂

  3. As I read your comment about needing to disconnect… I thought – if I disconnect how is it that I’m going to keep up with my classes? It’s like you say we need to find the middle ground a balance that works for us! Stopping to think about it once in a while is important. Have a great summer!

  4. You and Erin make really great points about the ‘introverts’ in all of us. I too get overwhelmed with social interactions, and it is much easier to converse over things like Twitter. It is also great to keep up connections, particularly in the professional field and share resources. Great points, as per usual Amy, and I really enjoyed learning with you again this semester! Until next time!

  5. I really enjoyed reading your post this week Amy! I will be humming the song in my head all night! 🙂 I do not know if I would say I am an introvert, but I like having my phone if I am meeting up with friends and family just in case I am the first one to arrive. It makes me feel more comfortable to read messages on my phone instead of just having to sit and wait for everyone to arrive. For me I could not completely unplug all of the time because I use technology to communicate with my family since I am the only one who lives out of my hometown. I agree that we are living in an augmented reality and I think we need to educate our students about digital etiquette and be good role models as well. Our students do not know a world without technology and maybe do not know the proper etiquette when talking with others. Thanks for wonderful semester Amy! I learned a lot from reading your posts and listening to our opinions during our Tuesday night classes. Have a wonderful summer!

Leave a Reply

