S’il vous plaît excusez-moi et mes français maladroits

Well – it’s been another week!  I’ve stayed mostly on track with my goals this week (with couple small exceptions that I will address a little later).

I have worked through Duolingo  and maintained my lessons consistently, and I even managed to ‘increase’ my level to 12 (I think the increase occurs with the amount of new lessons completed).  I did also manage to ‘increase’ my fluency to 43% (I’m wondering if the fluency is somehow attached to an algorithm with the lessons you’ve done and how many you get correct versus how many are wrong).  My down fall with Duolingo for the last two weeks has been Wednesday – I am not sure why or how but these last two Wednesdays have apparently been so full that by the time I’m able to get on my phone/computer to do the lessons, I make it through one or two and then I fall asleep (yes, I really just admitted that).  I plan to see how this week goes, and if I’m  unable to complete the lessons I will make a new plan for Wednesday’s to get it done!

IMG_2149
picture of my Duolingo progress this week

 

I was also excited this week to consistently remember to listen to French radio again, and I am finding I am able to pick out more and more of the conversations (I’m going to have to start writing down what I understand so I can use them in my reflections each week).  An additional win is that my daughter who was initially excited to learn french, and very quickly jumped off that train, started practicing with Duolingo again this past two weeks, has been asking to listen to French radio if it’s not on, and has been adding french words to our conversation when she can!

I was also able to have several mini french conversations this week (I will also admit to a french fail moment when I was trying to ask my daughter “what are you wearing today” and I picked several incorrect words which actually meant ‘who you call today’ – so bad!)

Head in HandsBy Alex E. Proimos – http://www.flickr.com/photos/proimos/4199675334/, CC BY 2.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=22535544

 

Another ‘positive’ this week comes from consistently practicing reading aloud with french picture books.  I’ve tried to incorporate several ‘levels’ of french reading, I can certainly tell the difference in my ‘instructional’ level and my ‘independent’ level.  A disclaimer- I am probably butchering a lot of the pronunciations, please feel free to comment and tell me what I need to work on!

 

As for ‘fails’ of the week, I have not been on Mango at all- I felt an urgency to ‘complete’ the Duolingo lessons so I ‘know’ the vocabulary.  However, I honestly feel that doing both at the same time is more  beneficial.  I suppose at this point in the semester, I’m feeling like I want to ‘check’ something off of my list so I can say “I’ve accomplished something”  (I realize I have accomplished something, so I need to get over it!)

All right- next weeks goals include:

  • Continuing to meet my Duolingo goal daily
  • Continuing to listen to French radio daily
  • Continue to read french picture books
  • Continue to have french conversations (preferably accurate ones)
  • Incorporate Mango more consistently

256px-SMirC-thumbsup.svg.png

By chris 論 (own design) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
7 thoughts on “S’il vous plaît excusez-moi et mes français maladroits

  1. I love watching your read alouds Amy! Do you have these French books available in your school library?

  2. Good job on the David book, only a very few errors! I declare it definitely within your independent reading level! Dr Seuss is way harder in French because it doesn’t rhyme as well. How did you put text over your video?

    1. Thanks Andrea- Dr Seuss was extremely tricky, even though the words didn’t seem that far off from what I am learning!

      I’ve been using movie maker on my computer and for the words during my read aloud I used the caption button, for the words following my video I used the credits feature. It’s really easy to add- I’m not very well versed in movie making!

  3. 43% fluency!! That’s awesome!! I am honestly struggling to get past the 14-16% range but I haven’t been as consistent as you on the daily streak. I have been trying to work with other apps/websites so I think that is half the problem. I keep getting tied up on that fluency number and panic when I see how well everyone else is doing. I always go back to Duolingo when I see how well others are doing, but I want to continue to explore other learning tools so it’s like I’m trying to get away and it just keeps pulling me back haha. Nice that you have some books that you can read at your school in French.

    1. Haha – like I said though, I’m pretty sure the 43% is based on an algorithm which has more to do with how much time I’m spending on the app and how many questions I get ‘right’. There’s no way that I can speak it with 40%+ fluency – that’s why I will be on Mango a lot more, and I am going to have to start spending more time on conversations with my french speaking friends.

Leave a Reply

