EC&I 831- My Language Learning project

I am so excited to be in this class and to have the ability to work on a ‘personal’ learning project!

I always enjoyed participating in core French throughout my Elementary and Secondary school years.  I did fairly well, but I always wished I had been given the option to participate in French Immersion.

I’d say I have some very basic French vocabulary at this point – and I wouldn’t call it conversational, but my goal is to get to a point where I can consider it ‘conversational’ French.

Some apps I have considered at this point include:  Duolingo, Babbel, and even Rosetta Stone (I’ve really heard some good things about this program – but it’s expensive).  At this point I need to do some more searching before I commit to any program (and I guess there’s always the chance that I’ll end up using multiple sources).

For this project- I plan to post a ‘starting point’ video “showcasing” the French ‘skills’ that I have (insert eye-rolling emoticon here).  I will likely post videos along the way – and I may also enlist a friend or two along the way to practice my skills with!

Can’t wait to get this project started!

6 thoughts on “EC&I 831- My Language Learning project

  1. Maybe I should’ve continued to work on my French and we could’ve conversed together. I’m hoping to find some people to practice my Italian with. Good luck with your language adventure!

  2. Good luck! This sounds like a really rewarding personal learning project and I look forward to reading more about your journey!

  3. Love your idea! I am a major proponent of French education as a French immersion teacher, and I hope I can share your story with some of my students who wish they weren’t in French immersion because of it’s difficulty! As with Ellen and Andrea, let me know if you need help!

Leave a Reply

