Asking questions and critical thinking in the ‘media(s)’

This week, I was overwhelmed by the possibilities!  What should I talk about?  The possibilities were countless, I started by looking for scholarly articles on sociologists and when I wasn’t finding anything captivating I came across this visual, which reminded me that I had to ‘do better’ than some scholarly articles to make my post ‘pop’.   So I tried to blabberize an image of Charles H. Cooley and explain ‘the looking glass self‘ and quite frankly- I’m never posting that!

So, I had spent so much time in my pre-writing stage, researching, gathering information about different sociologists (Herbert Blumer and his theory of  The Socialized Self , Cooley, among others).  I feel like I spent much of my week bookmarking sites and videos that I didn’t know how to fit together.  After spending sometime musing about what I should write about with , I went back to the pieces that were engaging to me!

media literacy

— rendered with love by pprd1-node571-lh1.manhattan.bf1.yahoo.com

When I began searching about media literacy- I came across the tweeted video link.  I loved the idea of fighting for something you believe in, and ‘beating’ someone at their own game.  I believe this is a powerful example of how social media and media literacy can come together to evoke change.

Part of thinking critically about this video, however, is looking into who ran the campaign and why?  When I dug a little deeper, I found the same video being discussed here.  Turns out there was a PR firm that spurred the campaign-although as discussed and resolved in that forum, it is still an example of a media campaign which evoked a reaction from the public!  That being said, I’m not sure in this case the WHO changes what happened because of it.

This video featuring Dr. Vanessa Domine was another interesting perspective, that helped to pull information I had been looking at together. In her doctoral program worked with Neil Postman as her advisor.  How can someone who is intrigued with the use of and incorporation of technology successfully work with someone with a luddite perspective?

All of these things had me considering: What are the differences in schooling and educating?  How is our curriculum effected by technology?  Additionally, I had to consider- where  is the distinction between educating with technology and just including technology?

I think this is when I start to move from the idea of Media Literacy and the ability to access and analyze information to Media Ecology which is the larger concept of technology affecting our systems.

This Ted Talk from Michael Wesch really incorporates the two ideas of Media Literacy and Media Ecology really well, as we have to expand our students thinking from knowledgeable to knowledge-ABLE; however in the act of doing this, the Ecology of media is expanding and impacting our world.

If you take anything from my post remember…

Leave a Reply

