Technology time

I’m really starting to feel like I’m falling behind with keeping my blogs and things up to date!  I’m really enjoying the class and I’m glad we get to play with the Macs, and imovie because I can really see that being used within a classroom.  It is really easy to maneuver, and I think that kids would really enjoy the creative process involved in “the making of”.

I’ve also been trying to use Twitter regularly and my posts must not be profound, or my questions aren’t good enough because I don’t get any responses.  Perhaps I’m doing something wrong (ha ha).

I am still really excited about the ability to make connections using technology.  For my final project I am anticipating making a wiki that displays examples of ways to make connections with technology.  Along with that, I will include links to the resources, along with ways in which they can be used.

As a teacher, I think that this site will be a valuable resource that can be shared with colleagues (I hope)!

15 thoughts on “Technology time

  1. Twitter does take a long time to get the hang of, and to build a network. If you are not getting responses, it is likely that there are not enough people following you. Try finding more people to follow, tweet more, and eventually more people will follow you AND respond. It takes time, but is well worth it.

    Thanks for giving it a shot.

  2. Hi Amy,
    Keep up the good work. I understand your frustrations with Twitter, but if you keep reaching out, and be selective in who you follow, help (responses)will come. As a tech teacher teaching in Singapore, twitter & blogging has helped me stay connected and has opened so many doors to both me and my students.
    Best of luck!
    -Keith

  3. The reason you are having a hard time on Twitter is that because of your privacy settings your tweets are not showing up on the timeline. No one is seeing them so no one is responding to you. I read a tweet from Alec Couros about you and decided to check out your blog. Change your privacy settings and see if it makes a difference. Keep blogging and tweeting!
    Janice

  4. Technology is a wonderful tool for teaching and learning. As with all things worthwhile, it takes time to investigate and play. I have found that being patient with the process, while difficult, is worthwhile. Dabble, play and create. Lurk on Twitter and learn. Follow folks who have similar philosophies and then seek those who will challenge your ideas and get you to think about topics from a different perspective. Don’t put pressure on yourself to constantly post. Reflect on whatever you do. I look forward to “talking” with you on Twitter, if you like: DonnaBaratta

  5. Be patient with twitter. Lurk. Visit profiles of people you are following. Peek at the people they follow. Add a few followers on each visit so that you are following more people and seeing more tweets. The more you follow the more likely you are to become engaged in a conversation or have a question answered. Here is a blog post I wrote about twitter some time ago – it might help you understand the value. http://cbmasters.blogspot.com/2009/04/curse-you-twitter.html. Here is another post I made that included references to twitter http://cbmasters.blogspot.com/2009/03/tiny-chat-and-hashtags.html and another that gives you an idea of my experience learning twitter http://cbmasters.blogspot.com/2009/02/good-reason-to-twitter.html. It takes time but if you invest the time you will reap the benefits. I’m still more of a lurker and taker but I do give back when people like @Courosa are looking for help. Hope this helps a little; would love to hear back from you! Good luck on the journey! Fron one still learning!

    1. Thank you Steven! I’m feeling slightly overwhelmed from the responses I got to this post! I appreciate the links, and I’m going to check them out to gain some insight.

      How long have you been in the profession (I guess I’m assuming)? It makes me happy when I hear that teachers are still learning 🙂

      1. I am a principal now; I have been teaching since 1986. I really just got started in the web stuff about a year ago.

  6. Well if you have few followers it is hard to get replies. The stream of Tweets sometimes moves too fast and people may miss what you say. Think about if you want to keep your tweets private or if you want to attract more readers and so more people to comment/reply. And follow interesting people. And chatty people. And people who like to reply to others. First follow and followers will come along.
    What you want to do is give others a chance to be profound. So pose your questions in that way.

  7. Hi Amy,
    If you carry your laptop around with you maybe as things come to mind, you can enter it into a file with the date and time and when you finally do have the time to post you won’t be behind. (Did that make any sense??? lol)

    Don’t be discouraged or give up with regard to twitter! It takes a little while to find the right “twitter friends” 🙂 Keep adding people that share your interests or that you find interesting. Don’t worry about being profound enough 😉 Just be you, whoever that is… share your enthusiasm for your chosen field, for life and whatever else! Screw profound! Relax and have fun with all of this technology 🙂 Sometimes I am so excited about CS Education and all of the amazing technology at our finger tips I could dance a jig! (Though, since I really don’t know how to do a jig I have refrained 🙂

    Take care and remember, there is no one else just like you…what you have to say is important and has value!

    I may not be there yet, but I’m closer than I was yesterday. ~Author Unknown

    ~Pamela Gill

    1. Thanks Pamela!

      You made me laugh! I appreciate that! I will keep using Twitter, and I will continue to be who I am 🙂

      Thanks for taking the time to respond to my blog!

      Amy

  8. I’m not sure if you’re looking for responses to specific posts or just want a feeling of “being out there”. If the second, google “How to get more followers on Twitter”. Also, mashable.com is invaluable for specific situation, but takes lots of scrolling to find your particular topic.
    Finally,beware of commenting on trending topics till you find out whether their followers are fans of the expletive undeleted. You don’t want them to find you.
    And see, a stranger has found you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

