Tech Task #1 – A little about myself

My name is Amy, and I have spent my entire life in Regina (yes I have traveled, but I have been born and raised here).  I am married and have a 20 month old daughter(Danika), and am looking forward to celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary this summer!  I am currently teaching myself to play the guitar, I enjoy reading (although it’s mostly Elmo books these days!), I also enjoy singing, swimming and spending time with my family.

Computers have been a part of my life for a long time!  I took a computer course at SIAST a few years ago and that helped me to really know the Office applications of a computer.  I enjoy using technology and trying new things with it, but I have also been frustrated by technology when I have an awesome lesson planned but the laptops aren’t working, or the website is down, etc!

Some of the limitations I have experienced within the classroom include, not enough computers, lap tops not charged, internet not connecting, pages taking too long to load.  At the same time, I also believe that teaching students in the K-12 classroom how to use these tools is essential.  While we are teaching students how to blog, and connect with students in other classrooms, we also need to be the responsible teacher that explains the hazards of the internet, and the predators who can be lurking.  I think that you should be able to use technology to transmit assignments and work collaboratively with others, and I also feel that we  need to maintain some quid pro quo in the classroom – meaning we can’t lose sight of proper letter formation, or face to face contact with people.

I would like to have a better understanding of some Educational programs that are available to me, as well as internet applications.  I feel like I have a solid understanding of PCs, however, I’m sometimes lost with Macs.

Leave a Reply

